Helper Profile

Xia a

$180 per Day
Unavailable

Female, 54 years old

Xia a

54 years old

Female

$180 per Day
Unavailable
Location
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Experience (Years)
3 (Taken Care of 3 kids / 0 seniors)
Fluently spoken language(s)
English, Chinese Mandarin
Responsibilities
Child Care
Nanny, Sitter
Domestic Care
Cook, Cleaner, Housekeeper
  • Child Care
  • Senior Care
  • Domestic Care
  • Family Assist
  • Learning
  • Nanny
  • Sitter
  • Postpartum Nanny
  • Daycare Teacher
  • Companion Caregiver
  • Patient Caregiver
  • Cook
  • Cleaner
  • Transportation
  • Housekeeper
  • Personal Assistant
  • Language Tutor
  • Art/Music/Science
  • Health/Wellness
  • Has Driver License
  • Has Car
  • Comfortable With Pets
Reviews (2)
  • Hi, Thank you for your patience with our delay in feedback–we were traveling the past few weeks and only now have had the chance to do a few days "trial" with Xia Ayi. While there are some things we have appreciated about her, we do also have some concerns that we would like to share. Some things we liked and appreciated about Xia Ayi: She spoke to our two-year-old Yunhan frequently and in clear Mandarin, which is so helpful for his ongoing language development She takes the time to read with our two-year-old Yunhan She took Yunhan on many outdoor adventures and took both children twice on the day she was with both of them She seems caring and understands how to interact with two-year old She took initiative to do household chores when there was extra downtime Questions and concerns: -In many ways, our primary concerns had to do with communication. Xia Ayi often spoke with us in fast-paced Mandarin that we had trouble understanding. We tried to reinforce that it is helpful for us for her to use WeChat to communicate so that we can use the translate function, though she seemed hesitant to share questions in that way. Particularly in a trial week/training period, we would expect a potential ayi to have many questions and concerns, and we would have appreciated more communication in a form we could understand. There were multiple times when we wished she had asked for help or clarification. -Timing and attention to details: We know that Xia Ayi was concerned about transportation to our house, and we wish she had been more communicative and planned differently around this. We knew she might have trouble finding parking, so we offered a private space behind our house to park there, but she seemed resistant to that help and, as a result, starting late for more than one day because of parking-related concerns, which is a challenge for both of us as it feels important to at least try to have time to transition our children and to begin our work on time. This attention to detail also showed up in other ways and may have also connected to communication, but could feel like carelessness: she left the front door wide open without returning from an outdoor trip and left the house without a key and the front door unlocked. -Health and safety: Most importantly, despite one parent trying to explain, Xia Ayi at first didn’t seem to notice that Yunfeng, our older child, had a bloody nose while she was caring for him. The most important piece of what we need for this job is help maintaining a healthy and safe environment for our children. Caring for two children at once can be challenging, and we have learned from this experience that ideally we would really like to find an ayi who has experience taking care of two children at once. Overall, though we are not counting Xia Ayi out completely, we would really like to meet another candidate/other candidates. Xia ayi asked that we let her know soon so she can find another job if this does not work out. We tried to communicate that she should feel welcome to take another job if one is available to her now. While we are not saying “no” to her right now, we would like to see if there is someone who is better able to fit our need: again, if the ayi has only basic English, we would still want to make sure they are comfortable communicating with us (ideally in a combination of WeChat and slow/patient, Chinese/English/Chinglish conversations. If at all possible someone with experience caring for more than one child over than age two would make a difference.
    2024-05-20 19:03:09
  • Dear Sir or Madam, I am writing this letter to recommend Yingfeng Xia as a babysitter to your place. She worked for me from March till Dec this year. She lived in a guest room while she was working for me. She took care of my baby very well with her extraordinary medical skills and babysitting experience. She had a very positive impact on my family’s life during the time she was working for us. She is very professional and helped my family get through a very difficult time. But unfortunately we had to move to California, so we had to end our work relationship even though we didn’t want to. I highly recommend Mrs Xia for this position to which she has applied. I know your children would love her as much as mine have and that you would never be disappointed in her services. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance. Sincerely, Katherine Song
    2023-06-06 23:08:39
In order for this site to work properly, also to evaluate and improve the site, we use cookies.
×